“Fresh start” evening dressmaking classes

10 week dressmaking course

Thursday evenings (7pm – 9pm)

Venue: Community Centre, Miltown Malbay

 

Fee: €100

This dressmaking class is most suitable for those who already have a little experience using a sewing machine, but want to start making (or altering) clothes or improve their skills. Due to time constraints and larger class size, this class may not be suitable for complete beginners.

Contact me using the contact form or call 087 669 3331 to book. Max. class size 10 (Room hire requires a minimum of 6 participants to run course.)

These classes are designed to introduce you to dressmaking using a commerical pattern. I’m going to assume that you have sewn before and you probably have a machine (though this is not essential); you might even have tried some simple dressmaking. If you have never used a machine before, you may be better served booking my 6-day, “No Fears, No Failures” beginners’ course.

What will I learn?

This evening sewing class aims to adopt the same fun and stress-free ethos as my complete beginners’ course, but allows you to choose your own sewing projects. Patterns and materials are not provided, but pattern catalogues will be available to browse, or choose from a number of simple, tried and tested, patterns that I always keep in stock. If required, fabrics and haberdashery are available at a 10% discount from Wild Ireland Haberdashery in Main Street, Miltown Malbay.

The aim is to improve your dressmaking skills so, each week, participants will be given the option of practicing a sample dressmaking technique (a seam finish, zip application, sample pocket, etc.) before getting on with their own project.  What each participant gets out of the class will depend on their level of experience and the dressmaking project they choose, but I’ll be on hand to help you at every step. In particular, I can guide you through

V8997 Misses' dress

  • B5466 Misses' Skirt and BeltBody measurements
  • Pattern interpretation, sizing and alteration
  • Pattern layout, markings and transfer
  • Zip applications
  • Simple customisations
  • Professional finishing

An overlocker/serger machine will be available for those who wish to use it.

What equipment will I need?

You will need a sewing machine* and a basic sewing kit. For beginners, I recommend just seven items to get you started:

As with all my courses, if you have all these things at home, all well and good. If not, you are welcome to purchase them direct from me. All students receive a 10% discount on store items (excluding sewing patterns). Depending on your level of experience, I can help you choose a simple pattern. I keep Butterick and Simplicity patterns in stock and can order McCalls, Vogue, Burda and New Look. You will also need fabric.

*Loan sewing machines

If you don’t have a sewing machine at home and would like to borrow one, please let me know.

Booking

Sewing Class Timetable – Spring 2020

Contact me using the contact form or call 087 669 3331 to book.

w/c 27th January
Saturday, 1st February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm) – FULL
w/c 3rd February
Thursday, 6th February “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 8th February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm) – FULL
w/c 10th February
Thursday, 13th February “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 15th February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm) – FULL
w/c 17th February
Thursday, 20th February “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 22nd February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm) – FULL
w/c 24th February
Thursday, 27th February “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 29th February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m) – FULL
Sunday, 1st March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m)
w/c 2nd March
Thursday, 5th March “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 7th March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m) – FULL
Sunday, 8th March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m)
w/c 9th March
Thursday, 12th March “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 14th March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m)
w/c 16th March
Thursday, 19th March “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 21st March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 23rd March
Thursday, 26th March “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 28th March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 30th March
Thursday, 2nd April “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday,4th April “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 6th April
Thursday, 9th April “Fresh Start” Dressmaking (7pm – 9pm)
Friday, 10th April Good Friday
Saturday, 11th April “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
Sunday, 12th April Easter Day
w/c 13th April
Monday, 13th April Bank Holiday
Saturday, 18th April “Love your overlocker” (10.30am – 5.30pm)
w/c 20th April
w/c 27th April
Saturday, 2nd May “Quilt Workshop” (TBA)
w/c 4th May
w/c 11th May
w/c 18th May
Saturday, 23rd May “Sew Professional” (10.30am – 5.30pm)
Sunday, 24th May “Sew Professional” (10.30am – 5.30pm)
w/c 25th May
w/c 1st June
Saturday, 6th June “Sew Professional” (10.30am – 5.30pm)