Thursday evening sewing class, new Miltown Malbay venue

make a sample garment and learn essential dressmaking techniques
Make a sample garmet and learn essential dressmaking techniques

This beginners’ dressmaking course is aimed at those who may already have a little experience using a sewing machine, but want to start making (or altering) clothes or improve their skills. If you can’t commit to weekend classes, this evening sewing class might be for you.

Available dates

8-hour dressmaking course, 4 x Thursday evenings (7pm – 9pm):

  • Thursday, 20th June
  • Thursday, 27th June
  • Thursday, 4th July
  • Thursday, 11th July

Fee: €120 (including necessary materials)

Contact me using the contact form or call 087 669 3331 to book.

 

While it is a beginners’ dressmaking course, I’m going to assume that you have sewn before and you probably have a machine (though this is not essential); you might even have tried some simple dressmaking. If you have never used a machine before, you may be better served booking my 6-day, “No Fears, No Failures” beginners’ course.

Scroll down to see my full Summer 2019 Timetable.

What will I learn?

This evening sewing class adopts the same fun and stress-free ethos as my complete beginners’ course. You will make a single sample garment, for which all necessary materials will be provided. I’ve deliberately chosen a trouser pattern, as it incorporates a broad range of essential techniques that can be applied to almost any future dressmaking project and that may not be present in a simpler garment, such as a skirt. These include:

From pattern layout to finished garment, learn useful dressmaking techniques that you can apply to any project.
From pattern layout to finished garment, learn useful dressmaking techniques that you can apply to any project.
  • Pattern layout, markings and transfer
  • Zipper installation
  • Darts
  • Pockets (‘Side Front Slanted’)
  • Waistband, buttonhole and button
  • Blind hem (machine and/or hand-sewn)
  • Use of overlocker
  • Included in the course fee are an original Butterick pattern, plain tissue for tracing (so you can remake the pattern in your own size), and plain calico fabric.

What equipment will I need?

See that picture at the top of the page? That pretty much covers the essentials. The sewing equipment shown in the photo is all you really need to start dressmaking:

As with all my courses, if you have all these things at home, all well and good. If not, you are welcome to purchase them direct from me. All students receive a 10% discount on store items (excluding sewing patterns).

Booking

Sewing Class Timetable – Summer 2019

Contact me using the contact form or call 087 669 3331 to book.

w/c 15th April
Tuesday, 16th April Children’s fun sewing (7+), 10am – 12pm
Wednesday, 17th April Children’s fun sewing (7+), 10am – 12pm
w/c 22nd April
(Easter Monday)
Tuesday, 23rd April Children’s dressmaking (11+), 10am – 3pm
Wednesday, 24th April Children’s dressmaking (age 11+), 10am – 3pm
Saturday, 27th April “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 29th April
Wednesday, 1st May Drop-in Sewing Machine Demo (10am – 12 noon)
Thursday, 2nd May “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 4th May “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 6th May
Thursday, 9th May “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 11th May “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 13th May
Thursday, 16th May “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 18th May “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 20th May
Thursday, 23rd May “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 25th May “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 27th May
Wednesday, 29th May “Repair Café”, drop-in repair/minor alteration workshop
(10am – 1pm)
Saturday, 1st June “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 3rd June
Wednesday, 5th June Drop-in Sewing Machine Demo Day (10am – 5pm)
Thursday, 6th June Men’s beginner sewing (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 8th June “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 10th June
Thursday, 13th June Men’s beginner sewing (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 15th June “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 17th June
Thursday, 20th June “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 22nd June “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 24th June
Wednesday, 26th June “Repair Café”, drop-in repair/minor alteration workshop
(10am – 1pm)
Thursday, 27th June “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 29th June “Love your Overlocker” (10am – 5pm)
Sunday, 30th June “Sew Professional” advanced skills (10am – 5pm)
w/c 1st July
Wednesday, 3rd July Drop-in Sewing Machine Demo Day (10am – 5pm)
Thursday, 4th July “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
w/c 8th July
Monday, 8th July “Willie Week Widows”, drop-in sewing workshop for non-musicians (10.30am – 12.30pm)
Tuesday, 9th July “Willie Week Widows”, drop-in sewing workshop for non-musicians (10.30am – 12.30pm)
Wednesday, 10th July “Willie Week Widows”, drop-in sewing workshop for non-musicians (10.30am – 12.30pm)
Thursday, 11th July “Willie Week Widows”, drop-in sewing workshop for non-musicians (10.30am – 12.30pm)
“Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Friday, 12th July “Willie Week Widows”, drop-in sewing workshop for non-musicians (10.30am – 12.30pm)