“Kick-Start” dressmaking class, Miltown Malbay 

make a sample garment and learn essential dressmaking techniques
Make a sample garmet and learn essential dressmaking techniques

This beginners’ dressmaking course is aimed at those who may already have a little experience using a sewing machine, but want to start making (or altering) clothes or improve their skills. If you can’t commit to weekend classes, this evening sewing class might be for you.

Available dates

10-hour dressmaking course, 5 x Thursday evenings (7pm – 9pm):

  • Thursday, 12th September
  • Thursday, 19th September
  • Thursday, 26th September
  • Thursday, 3rd October
  • Thursday, 10th October

or

  • Thursday, 31st October
  • Thursday, 7th November
  • Thursday, 14th November
  • Thursday, 21st November
  • Thursday, 28th November

Fee: €150 (including necessary materials)

Contact me using the contact form or call 087 669 3331 to book.

 

While it is a beginners’ dressmaking course, I’m going to assume that you have sewn before and you probably have a machine (though this is not essential); you might even have tried some simple dressmaking. If you have never used a machine before, you may be better served booking my 6-day, “No Fears, No Failures” beginners’ course.

Scroll down to see my full Autumn 2019 Timetable.

What will I learn?

This evening sewing class adopts the same fun and stress-free ethos as my complete beginners’ course. You will make a single sample garment, for which all necessary materials will be provided. I’ve deliberately chosen a trouser pattern, as it incorporates a broad range of essential techniques that can be applied to almost any future dressmaking project and that may not be present in a simpler garment such as a skirt. These include:

From pattern layout to finished garment, learn useful dressmaking techniques that you can apply to any project.
From pattern layout to finished garment, learn useful dressmaking techniques that you can apply to any project.
  • Body measurements
  • Pattern layout, markings and transfer
  • Zipper installation
  • Darts
  • Pockets (‘Side Front Slanted’)
  • Waistband, buttonhole and button
  • Blind hem (machine and/or hand-sewn)
  • Use of overlocker
  • Included in the course fee are an original McCall’s pattern and plain calico fabric.

What equipment will I need?

See that picture at the top of the page? That pretty much covers the essentials. The sewing equipment shown in the photo is all you really need to start dressmaking:

As with all my courses, if you have all these things at home, all well and good. If not, you are welcome to purchase them direct from me. All students receive a 10% discount on store items (excluding sewing patterns).

Booking

Sewing Class Timetable – Autumn 2019

Contact me using the contact form or call 087 669 3331 to book.

w/c 9th September
Thursday, 12th September “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 14th September “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 16th September
Thursday, 19th September “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 21st September “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
Sunday, 22nd September “Love your Overlocker” (10am – 5pm)
w/c 23rd September
Thursday, 26th September “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Friday, 27th September “Repair Café” (10.30am – 1pm)
Saturday, 28th September “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 30th September
Thursday, 3rd October “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Friday, 4th October Sewing Machine Demo Day (10.30am – 4pm)
Saturday, 5th October “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 7th October
Thursday, 10th October “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7
– 9pm)
Saturday, 12th October “Sew Professional” advanced skills (10am – 5pm)
Sunday, 13th October “Sew Professional” advanced skills (10am – 5pm)
w/c 15th October
Saturday, 19th October “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 21st October
Friday, 25th October “Repair Café” (10.30am – 1pm)
Saturday, 26th October “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 28th October
Thursday, 31st October “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7- 9pm)
Friday, 1st November Sewing Machine Demo Day (10.30am – 4pm)
Saturday, 2nd November “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
Sunday, 3rd November “Sew Professional” advanced skills (10am – 5pm)
w/c 4th November
Thursday, 7th November “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday,9th November NO CLASSES
Sunday, 10th November NO CLASSES
w/c 11th November
Thursday, 14th November “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 16th November “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 18th November
Thursday, 21st November “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 23rd November “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 25th November
Thursday, 28th November “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Friday, 29th November “Repair Café” (10.30am – 1pm)
Saturday, 30th November “Love your Overlocker” (10am – 5pm)