Advanced dressmaking classes, Miltown Malbay

These day advanced dressmaking classes are suitable for those who have already completed either of my beginners’ courses or those who may be self-taught and have equivalent experience. The aim is to build your confidence to take on more challenging projects. The classes are fast-paced, and will require accurate machine stitching. I assume knowledge of certain basic dressmaking principles. Though not essential, to get most out of the day, participants should bring their own sewing machine or overlocker (with its user manual). The object is to create sample work that participants can refer to during future dressmaking projects. Complete beginners should book either my 6-day “No Fears” Beginners’ Dressmaking course or, if you can already use a sewing machine, the 5-evening “Kick-start Dressmaking” course. 

Love your overlocker

husqvarna-s15-overlocker
Husqvarna S15 overlocker. Buy one from us and the “Love your overlocker” class is FREE!

One-day class (10am – 5pm)

Saturday, 9th November

Fee €55

Fee includes all necessary materials. Refreshments will be provided and an optional €10 ‘meal deal’ is available for a light fixed-menu lunch at the excellent Old Bakehouse Restaurant, directly opposite the shop.

Learn to use an overlocker by making a simple t-shirt in white cotton jersey. The workshop will cover

  • Threading an overlocker
  • Changing threads
  • Tension and stitch adjustment
  • Engaging and disengaging the blade
  • Differential feed
  • 3 and 4-thread sewing
  • Rolled hem and flatlock

 

Advanced Dressmaking Techniques

Dressmaking Skills #1 and #2

Practice advanced dressmaking skills, such as zip applications, seam finishes, custom pockets, and collars that will give your future dressmaking projects a bit of professional polish.

Two one-day workshops, bookable individually or together (save €10).

Skills #1: Not currently scheduled

Skills #2: Not currently scheduled

Fee €55

Dressmaking Skills #3


The main focus of the day will be putting together a small sample jacket from pre-cut calico pieces. Amongst other skills, you’ll practice:

  • Darts
  • Double welt/jet pocket
  • Notched lapel/revere collar
  • Set-in sleeves
  • Blind hem

One-day workshop (10am – 5pm)

Sunday, 3rd November

Fee €55

 

Fees include all necessary materials. Refreshments will be provided and an optional €10 ‘meal deal’ is available for a light fixed-menu lunch at the excellent Old Bakehouse Restaurant, directly opposite the shop.

Overlocker and Skills Development classes can be booked by contacting me direct using the form or calling 087 669 3331. Individual class sizes are limited to 4 people and fill quickly. Book early to accommodate any existing diary commitments.

Discount

All class participants benefit from a 10% discount on in-store purchases (excluding patterns).

Sewing Class Timetable – Autumn 2019

Contact me using the contact form or call 087 669 3331 to book.

w/c 9th September
Thursday, 12th September “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 14th September “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm) – 1 place
w/c 16th September
Thursday, 19th September “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 21st September “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm) – FULL
Sunday, 22nd September “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 23rd September
Thursday, 26th September “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 28th September “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm) – FULL
Sunday, 29th September “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 30th September
Thursday, 3rd October “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Friday, 4th October Sewing Machine Demo Day (10.30am – 4pm)
Saturday, 5th October “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm) – FULL
w/c 7th October
Thursday, 10th October “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7
– 9pm)
Saturday, 12th October NO CLASSES
Sunday, 13th October NO CLASSES
w/c 15th October
Saturday, 19th October “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm) – FULL
Sunday, 20th October “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 21st October
Saturday, 26th October “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm) – FULL
Sunday, 27th October “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 28th October
Thursday, 31st October “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7- 9pm)- booking now!
Friday, 1st November Sewing Machine Demo Day (10.30am – 4pm)
Saturday, 2nd November “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm) – FULL
Sunday, 3rd November “Sew Professional” advanced skills (10am – 5pm) – 2 places
w/c 4th November
Thursday, 7th November “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)- booking now!
Saturday, 9th November “Love Your Overlocker” (10am – 5pm)
w/c 11th November
Thursday, 14th November “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm) – booking now!
Saturday, 16th November “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm) – FULL
w/c 18th November
Thursday, 21st November “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)- booking now!
Saturday, 23rd November “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm) – FULL
Sunday, 24th November “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 25th November
Thursday, 28th November “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm) – booking
now!
Saturday, 30th November “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)