Advanced dressmaking classes, New Miltown Malbay venue for 2019

These day advanced dressmaking classes are suitable for those who have already completed either of my beginners’ classes or those who may be self-taught and have equivalent experience. The aim is to build your confidence to take on more challenging projects. The classes are fast-paced, and will require accurate machine stitching. I assume knowledge of certain basic dressmaking principles. Though not essential, to get most out of the day, participants should bring their own sewing machine or overlocker (with its user manual). The object is to create sample work that participants can refer to during future dressmaking projects. Complete beginners should book either my 6-day “No Fears” Beginners’ Dressmaking course or, if you can already use a sewing machine, the 4-evening “Kick-start Dressmaking” course. 

Love your overlocker

One-day class (10am – 5pm)

Saturday, 29th June

Fee €55

Fee includes all necessary materials. Refreshments will be provided and an optional €10 ‘meal deal’ is available for a light fixed-menu lunch at the excellent Old Bakehouse Restaurant, directly opposite the shop.

Learn to use an overlocker by making a simple t-shirt in white cotton jersey. The workshop will cover

  • Threading an overlocker
  • Changing threads
  • Tension and stitch adjustment
  • Engaging and disengaging the blade
  • Differential feed
  • 3 and 4-thread sewing
  • Rolled hem and flatlock

 

Dressmaking Skills

Learn more advanced dressmaking skills, such as custom pockets and tailored lapels and collars that will give your future dressmaking projects a bit of professional polish.

One-day workshop (10am – 5pm)

Sunday, 30th June

Fee €55

Fee includes all necessary materials. Refreshments will be provided and an optional €10 ‘meal deal’ is available for a light fixed-menu lunch at the excellent Old Bakehouse Restaurant, directly opposite the shop.

 

The main focus of the day will be putting together a small sample jacket from pre-cut calico pieces. Amongst other skills, you’ll practice:

  • Darts
  • Double welt/jet pocket
  • Notched lapel/revere collar
  • Set-in sleeves
  • Blind hem

Depending on the speed and ability of the group, we may also finish the afternoon with one or two of the following sample pieces:

    • Seam finishes
    • Zipper installation
    • In-seam pocket
    • Buttons and buttonholes

Overlocker and Skills Development classes can be booked by contacting me direct using the form or calling 087 669 3331. Individual class sizes are limited to 4 people and fill quickly. Book early to accommodate any existing diary commitments.

 

Sewing Class Timetable – Summer 2019

Contact me using the contact form or call 087 669 3331 to book.

w/c 15th April
Tuesday, 16th April Children’s fun sewing (7+), 10am – 12pm
Wednesday, 17th April Children’s fun sewing (7+), 10am – 12pm
w/c 22nd April
(Easter Monday)
Tuesday, 23rd April Children’s dressmaking (11+), 10am – 3pm
Wednesday, 24th April Children’s dressmaking (age 11+), 10am – 3pm
Saturday, 27th April “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 29th April
Wednesday, 1st May Drop-in Sewing Machine Demo (10am – 12 noon)
Thursday, 2nd May “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 4th May “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 6th May
Thursday, 9th May “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 11th May “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 13th May
Thursday, 16th May “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 18th May “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 20th May
Thursday, 23rd May “Kick-Start”, Intensive dressmaking (7 – 9pm)
Saturday, 25th May “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 27th May
Wednesday, 29th May “Repair Café”, drop-in repair/minor alteration workshop
(10am – 1pm)
Saturday, 1st June “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 3rd June
Wednesday, 5th June Drop-in Sewing Machine Demo (10am – 12 noon)
Thursday, 6th June Men’s beginner sewing (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 8th June “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 10th June
Thursday, 13th June Men’s beginner sewing (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 15th June “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 17th June
Saturday, 22nd June “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10am – 4pm)
w/c 24th June
Wednesday, 26th June “Repair Café”, drop-in repair/minor alteration workshop
(10am – 1pm)
Saturday, 29th June “Love your Overlocker” (10am – 5pm)
Sunday, 30th June “Sew Professional” advanced skills (10am – 5pm)