Sewing Classes

Whether you are a complete beginner or want to hone your skills, we have a sewing class to suit you. My classes are fun and stress-free and include materials and refreshments. For all-day classes, an optional €10 ‘meal deal’ is available for a light fixed-menu lunch from the excellent Old Bakehouse Restaurant, directly opposite our new shop in Miltown Malbay.

I started sewing when I was nine years old and have been dressmaking ever since – that’s more than 40 years’ experience, including 3 years with a top London designer! I was fortunate to have such good teachers when I was young and have made it my mission to encourage as many people as possible to make, alter, and repair their own clothes.

 “… I learned more about sewing in two days than I did the whole year I spent in college. Thank you so much, it has given me the confidence to sew again. “ (BK, Ennis).

Beginners’ Sewing Classes

Beginners’ Sewing Class: “No Fears, No Failures”

This class is aimed at the complete beginner with no (or very little) previous experience, who wants to learn to make their own clothes. You’ll learn to use a sewing machine by making a colourful tote bag, before starting your first dressmaking project making a garment from a commercial pattern.

Find out more about: Beginners’ Sewing Course “No Fears, No Failures”

Intensive Dressmaking Classes

Kickstart Dressmaking

If weekends don’t suit you, why not join this new 10-week evening class. This course will suit those who have a little experience using a sewing machine but want to start making (or altering) clothes. Each week you will learn a useful dressmaking technique that you can apply to any project, as well as working on your own garment.

Find out more about: Intensive Sewing Course “Kickstart Dressmaking”

Advanced Sewing Classes

These workshops are suitable for those who have already completed a beginners’ dressmaking course or those who may be self-taught and have equivalent experience.

The courses are fast-paced, and participants will need accurate machine-sewing skills. To get most out of the day, you should bring your own sewing machine or overlocker.

Love your overlocker

Thread your machine with confidence and learn how to adjust the settings to create professional finishes. Then practice your skills using an overlocker to make simple t-shirt.

Find out more about: Advanced Sewing Courses: “Love your overlocker”

 

Sew Professional

Practice advanced dressmaking skills that will give your future dressmaking projects a bit of professional polish. There are three classes to choose from. In Dressmaking Techniques #1 and #2 you’ll practice different types zip applications, seam finishes and pockets. In Dressmaking Techniques #3, you’ll make up a small sample jacket pattern that includes testing features, such as custom pockets, and tailored lapels and collars.

Find out more about: Advanced Sewing Courses “Sew Professional”

Try sewing

In the words of this year’s winner of the Great British Sewing Bee, “Anyone can sew … Just get out there and give it a go.” I so agree, and I’m making it my mission in life to introduce more people to this practical, creative – and therapeutic – pastime. If you would like to give sewing a go, why not come in and try it.

Sewing machine demos

If you’ve been thinking of buying a sewing machine, why not make an appointment to try my range of Husqvarna machines. No obligation to buy. What better way to compare machines?

Minor repairs and alterations

Don’t relegate that favourite outfit to the back of the cupboard for want of a button or a hem! Bring in your small repairs and alterations and I’ll teach you how to fix them yourself. I can’t promise to turn you into an ace seamstress in half an hour, but you might be surprised at what you can achieve with a bit of help. (NB I teach sewing. I don’t take in repairs and alterations.)

Sewing Class Timetable – Spring 2020

Contact me using the contact form or call 087 669 3331 to book.

w/c 27th January
Saturday, 1st February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 3rd February
Thursday, 6th February “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 8th February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 10th February
Thursday, 13th February “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 15th February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 17th February
Thursday, 20th February “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 22nd February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 24th February
Thursday, 27th February “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 29th February “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m)
Sunday, 1st March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m)
w/c 2nd March
Thursday, 5th March “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 7th March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m)
Sunday, 8th March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m)
w/c 9th March
Thursday, 12th March “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 14th March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30m)
w/c 16th March
Thursday, 19th March “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 21st March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 23rd March
Thursday, 26th March “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday, 28th March “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 30th March
Thursday, 2nd April “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Saturday,4th April “No Fears”, Beginners’ dressmaking (10.30am – 4.30pm)
w/c 6th April
Thursday, 9th April “Kickstart Dressmaking” (7pm – 9pm)
Friday, 10th April Good Friday
Saturday, 11th April
Sunday, 12th April Easter Day
w/c 13th April
Monday, 13th April Bank Holiday
Saturday, 18th April “Love your overlocker” (10.30am – 5.30pm)
w/c 20th April
w/c 27th April
Saturday, 2nd May “Quilt Workshop” (TBA)
w/c 4th May
w/c 11th May
w/c 18th May
Saturday, 23rd May “Sew Professional” (10.30am – 5.30pm)
Sunday, 24th May “Sew Professional” (10.30am – 5.30pm)
w/c 25th May
w/c 1st June
Saturday, 6th June “Sew Professional” (10.30am – 5.30pm)